‘Why the first thing I will miss about China is Taobao’

Meyene Patrick (right)
Meyene Patrick (right)

Meyene Patrick is a first class graduate of Economics. She is currently completing a Masters Program at Renmin University of China, where she studied the impact of inflation on economic growth in China and Nigeria. Recently, she spoke to me about her nearly two years experience of living in China.

Coming to China

I got to China via a scholarship scheme called the Federal Scholarship Board (FSB) in Nigeria. They pick bright students and give them scholarship opportunities to different countries, including Japan and Ukraine. I chose China because I was interested in the country’s economy. I was interested in studying how their economy grew so large in such a considerably short period of time.

I have been able to figure it out. I think one of the major ways is because they are not democratic. So, to an extent, the citizen’s opinions don’t matter. The Government believes it can lead them to the promised land so they take drastic measures and push their citizens to work very hard, which can have its bad side. The government has been a huge driver of their economic growth. But the people work really hard.

Also, following from the first reason, they’ve maximised their population, their labour force. They’ve been able to use it to a very good extent.

They promote domestic products. China is one of the countries where I know they try as much as possible to use what is made in China. And they export these products.

They also invest a lot, in African countries and across the world. They have their motives behind it. For example, their investment gives them access to resources.

Menyene: China gave me the opportunity to meet people from all over the world.
Menyene: China gave me the opportunity to meet people from all over the world.

What were your first impressions of China?

I had this mindset that China was the Promised Land. I wasn’t totally disappointed though. It was beautiful, especially Beijing, compared to Lagos. And very accomodating. They have this very good control of their population. Sometimes you don’t feel like they have a huge population except in unique circumstances. From the airport alone you are impressed.

What community has been helpful in helping you cope with living China?

Church is my second home in China. If I wasn’t able to locate the church I currently attend, I don’t think I would have enjoyed China. It was like home away from home for me. It made China comfortable and homely.

Chinese racism?

It’s not possible to be an African in China and not experience racism. It is one of the most annoying things here. I feel it is really high. Despite that it’s Beijing and you feel people should be more civilised. I will use the phrase, ‘once you are white, you are right’. But once you are not white, you miss out on so many opportunities. And they are not even interested in knowing what you are capable of. Sometimes you get stares and get so uncomfortable. At those times, I just wish I could get back to Nigeria. They look at you like, is she real? Is she human? I think it’s a really terrible thing. I feel the level of racism here is too high. It can kill your self-esteem. Sometimes they don’t have to say anything to you, they just need to stare. I’ve never felt that way in my life. It’s even more terrible when children do it to you.

Menyene Patrick
Menyene Patrick

Apart from racism, what else don’t you like about Chinese people?

To be sincere, some Chinese people lack proper hygiene. The environment in Beijing is clean because the Government tries as much as possible to make sure it is. But some of the people, they don’t have proper hygiene. Especially the ones that don’t interact a lot with foreigners. When they eat, they have bad chewing manners. Things you wouldn’t expect from an adult. You can just sit with someone and he belches or chews like a goat. It is very normal here. They spit around a lot too.

What do you like about Chinese people?

They are accommodating and friendly. They are inquisitive. It can be annoying sometimes, because it looks like racism, but they do like to learn. Majority of them are friendly and quick to help.

Also, when foreigners are under government care, they treat them with respect. They have high regard for foreigners under their care, maybe like foreigners on a government scholarship or are invited by the Chinese government. They make you very comfortable.

How good is your Chinese?

There is no hope. It’s terrible. I gave up on the whole thing. I wasn’t serious about it, because I didn’t have interest.

What will you miss about China when you leave?

The first thing I will miss about China is Taobao, that ease of buying anything with one click. I already feel bad, because on Taobao you can find anything at very convenient prices. And you have options.

Then the organised system. China is organised. I will miss the organised system, the bus, the subway, the organised way of doing everything in China.

I will miss my friends. I will miss my church. I will miss school too, but not the academics, just the fun.

Would you like to come back to China when you leave?

No, because I feel China is designed for Chinese people. China is not built for foreigners. You are restricted with the amount of money you can send back home. Also, I don’t think China gives a lot of career options. Most jobs available here are for English teachers. It is not impossible, but it is rare to see foreigners working in other sectors.

What’s the best thing that has happened to you here?

The exposure. Coming to China has been a very different experience for me. I got to travel across China. I met people from all over the world. So I’ve had this exposure. My mindset has totally changed. The best thing that happened to me was the exposure.

What are your thoughts on China’s relationship with Africa?

I think it is fair. If only Africa can just maximise it and not let corruption get a better part of them. China is stretching a helping hand. They have their motives, but they are trying to help. If Africa can put corruption aside and make use of the money we are getting, we can get a fair deal. China will do its part, but can African make it work?

Leave a comment